A summer brunch menu.

goat brie cheese with basil...

goat brie cheese with basil...

a summer brunch...
a summer brunch…
the menu...

the menu...

 

Although the weather here in the Bay Area seems more like Fall weather, it is indeed still Summer. I can’t complain, because the alternative to sunny and 60 degrees is humid and 105. This past Sunday, we had a small brunch with a few friends. Here’s the menu (Note: Not all of the recipes are linked to the references I’ve listed. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find them online. The recipes I’ve linked to seem the most similar, but if you want the exact recipe, just let me know!):

  • Sausage and mushroom strata (Joy of Cooking)
  • Leek tart (Joy of Cooking)
  • Marinated goat cheese (Joy of Cooking, but you don’t need a recipe for this one. Just pour 1/4 cup of whichever oil you’d like over the cheese and add fresh herbs. Bring it to room temperature before serving). These were my variations:
    • Goat cheese with fresh thyme and almond oil
    • Goat brie cheese with fresh basil, fig balsamic vinegar and olive oil
  • Herbed milk bread (Joy of Cooking). You can add herbs before you knead it the first time. Here are my the two variations I made:
    • One loaf: nutmeg, dill, rosemary
    • And the other: garlic powder, rosemary, thyme, black sesame
  • Smoked pork loin
  • Fruit salad with a syrup of fresh mint, honey and lime (no recipe necessary for this either – just add the right amounts until you get the flavor you want)
  • Raspberry clafoutis (So Easy with Ellie Krieger)

*Tip: I always create a menu and keep it in my recipe box. One, it’s just something I like to do because I’m nostalgic. And two, for more practical reasons, it helps to reference them when I’m making a new menu.

Leave a comment

Filed under Fun Times., Ideas, Recipes

Leave a comment