Roasted vegetable galette and strawberry-banana bread.

I don’t know about you, but with everything happening in the world – earthquakes in Japan, Libyan uprisings, kids jumping off the Golden Gate (and I quote) for kicks…do I need to mention Iraq and Afghanistan here (it seems we’ve spent a lot of time on Charlie and Lindsay, and I just want to make sure that we’re all on the same page for the important stuff) – I’m just mentally beat. I don’t want to watch the news, read the paper or look at any website that has anything remotely to do with news, or newspapers or celebrities. That said, foodgawker has been a good getaway for me. Not only is it just page after page of food you want to cook RIGHT NOW, it also links you to dwellinggawker and craftgawker – so you can look at pretty things.

Anyway.

I can’t truly get away from reality, but I can have moments of forgetfulness, of feeling like I’m leaving in a different time pre-allofthosethingsmentionedabove.

That said, I made a galette today – and strawberry-banana bread – because it makes me feel normal to be in my kitchen. Both things turned out really nice, and we even acted like adults and sat at our dinner table to eat and talk about our day and listen to old records. So fancy. And now I’m going to share them with you…

Click here for the roasted vegetable galette recipe. Something to note about this recipe is that it’s very flexible – use whatever vegetables, herbs or cheese you like – and you can bet it’ll still taste like a million bucks.

And

Click here for the strawberry-banana bread. This recipe is crazy-easy. If I make it again, I’d like to add this crunchy N’Dizi topping, found on Liv Life.

Ready? Set? Run to your kitchens! And enjoy your Saturday.

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

