Checking in 2011…

Every year my friend, Dave, has a…………a theme to his New Year’s resolutions. The first year I knew him, it was “more pizazz” (or maybe it was “more fun” – I don’t quite remember.). No details, he just wanted more pizazz/fun in his life.

This was promptly followed up the next year with “safety first”. It seemed appropriate, really.

But the lesson is that he didn’t say that this particular broken habit or that particular new habit would be the measure of success or failure. Lots of things can be considered “more fun” when you think about it – having a whole milk latte over regular coffee, buying a dress instead of just eyeing it, writing a love note with silly song quotes – all considered more fun than the alternative (by me at least), and all within the realm of achieving a yearly resolution of “more fun”.

So, in the spirit of my friend, Dave, I’ve got my own theme this year. It’s kind of corny, but I really feel like it’s something I want to do. Here goes:

Disconnect to do, to see, to make, to bake, cook, read and be more.

What does it mean? From computers and cell phones and iPads and iPods and iTouches and i-(know I’m forgetting other stuff) we’re always connected to – I feel like I am living in an alternative reality sometimes. I also know that those tools keep me in touch with the people I love and like (like you!), so I can’t blame them for this feeling. It’s the whole they know not what they do and all. I blame me.

So how to solve it and keep it simple? Here are some of the things I’ve come up with (but am certainly not limited to):

  • Less time on my phone.
  • Less time on my computer.

What to do with all this time that I’ll hopefully get back?

  • More hand holding with B. Yep, that’s it. This is what can happen when you’re not holding your phone or typing away on your computer.
  • Fewer emails and more real mail. I can’t tell you how often I’ve looked through the box of letters I wrote to my Mom in college. There’s a point when I stopped writing – when emailing became the thing. And I have to tell you, printing out emails just isn’t the same.
  • More baking. I’d especially like to get over my fear of the dreaded pie dough.
  • More cooking. I love to cook, but I hate to cook during the week. I’m thankful that B. will eat cereal with a smile just about any day or time of the week. But I’d like to cook more (really!).
  • More volunteering. This is worthy of a whole other blog post, but more to come on that at the right time.
  • More picture taking. Easy. B. just bought the Leica for me, and I’m so thrilled I carry it around with me everywhere like Linus with his blanket.
  • More making/sewing/creating. I just started a pretty big quilt project, and I’m excited about it. The holidays, and all of the paper cutting and painting and light stringing kind of wore me out on the imagination front, so I’m happy to get back to my regular sewing. Reorganizing my craft room didn’t hurt either.

So that’s it. That’s my hope for 2011. I hope you all had a very nice and happy New Year celebration. My new year was spent sick and napping. Fun times. But things are definitely looking up.

1 Comment

Filed under Holidays

One response to “Checking in 2011…

  1. Sarah Kate

    That inspirational resolution was “More flash, more pizzaz.”. It was a good one, I think I adopted it as my own two years ago.
    I would love to help you dispel your pie crust fear! We can make a delicious pie together in a few weekends (we are going to visit Rhea and fam this weekend).

Leave a Reply

