Checking out 2010…

Oh goody, I was able to find that list of 2010 resolutions I blogged about as I started the new year. As I begin to think about my 2011 resolutions, I wanted to check out how I did in 2010.

  • lose 10-15 pounds (this really won’t happen, since I’m already in pretty good shape and have weighed the same for almost ten years – but I just like to put the dream out there in the universe) ……….I was dead on. Nothing lost. But nothing gained, either, so really it’s a win-win.
  •  

  • start sewing more and making homemade gifts (love this one, and it’s something I may actually be able to stick to now that I have my craft room)………….So, I don’t think I crafted as much as I wanted to, but I definitely made some things that I loved and gave them to friends.
  •  

  • reel in my spending (damn you, Starbucks, and your awesome awesomeness) – and therefore save more……..I did, in fact, give up my morning Starbucks.
  •  

  • keep up my monthly anniversary cards to my husband (easy – I love to write them – he loves to read them)………Check! Done! Except for December, which I’m totally blaming on Christmas.
  •  

  • start carrying around my camera more often and taking more video with the flip – these are the days we’ll want those future kids of ours to see – when we were young and hip (or something like that)…………..I could’ve been better at this, but there’s a light at the end of the tunnel. One, B. just gave me a Leica for Christmas (I wanna do a little dance just thinking about it), and two, I actually filmed us opening our presents this year. It’s so funny and nice – there’s a point where B. is having trouble reading my handwriting on the card I gave him, and you can just see the wheels turning before he finally looks at me to ask me what the first word says.
  •  

  • watch less tv and read more……….I don’t know if I watch tv less, but I definitely read more. Even if I’m not updating my Books page, I promise, there’s reading going on.
  •  

  • plan our big trip to who-knows-where (any suggestions?)…………..Geographically, we didn’t go anywhere new. But we did take a big trip when flew home to New Orleans to help build a house with Habitat for Humanity. Sun, sweat, and long-felt exhaustion never felt so good.
  •  

  • keep up this dang blog of mine……………….Well, it’s sort of like the tv thing. And the camera thing. And the spending thing. It’s not that I failed miserably, but I could’ve done better.
  • All in all, not a total loss, right? Come back for Checking in 2011 in the next couple of days.

    Leave a comment

    Filed under Uncategorized

    Leave a Reply

    