And life is but…ter cream.

I have to admit I get a lot of joy out of cooking and baking for other people. Although this holiday season hasn’t felt as busy as it has in the past – no big Christmas dinner to plan or party to host  – I was still able to find myself in the kitchen, trying out new things. A few of the new recipes I’ll be adding to my permanent collection are below. Just click on the pictures for the link to the recipe.

As for Christmas, it was nice and quiet – and our sushi was just fine, thank you. The best part? Someone else cleaned up.

Two quick notes about these recipes…
 
The Cream Puffs recipe – it wasn’t available online (dang you, Martha), so I had to route you to another blog that had the recipe laid out. This particular recipe has you making a fancy raspberry cream – scratch that, it’s made with cream cheese and Cool Whip for god’s sake, so I shouldn’t pretend that it’s that special. I will say that you can’t go wrong with those two ingredients, though, so if you want to make yourself a raspberry cream, go right on ahead and whip away. For me, I didn’t make this particular recipe – I decided on two other versions:
  • Cream puffs with buttercream on the inside and bittersweet melted chocolate on the outside
  • Cream puffs with whipped meringue and lemon curd on the inside and powdered sugar on the outside (Try not to eat the lemon curd before you actually use it. In fact, I suggest not opening the jar until the very last minute before you have to add it to the meringue. I’m just saying, there are some things that are really good on a spoon, and lemon curd is one of them.)

After getting a call from my friend, Natalie, at 9:00 in the morning (hello, Natalie!) asking me why the *bleep* didn’t her cream puffs look like mine, I realize that I should give you the same reassuring news I gave her: these are cream puffs, and no matter what size they are, if they’re all the same size or not, people will eat them. It also doesn’t hurt if you have a mechanical pastry bag, which I use all the time. It really helps give you control over what you’re doing. The one from William’s Sonoma is easy to use, and it comes with everything you need to be fancy when the occasion calls for it.

As for the Chocolate Stout Bundt Cake, it was really easy to make. To kind of tone down the chocolate-yness, I added slivered almonds and a bit of sea salt. B. said it was even better the next day, and you can take that to the bank, because his second job is the Official House Cake Taster.

Everyday Food: Cream Puffs

Everyday Food: Cream Puffs

Real Simple Magazine: Chocolate Stout Bundt Cake

Real Simple Magazine: Chocolate Stout Bundt Cake

Leave a comment

Filed under Baking, Holidays, Recipes, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

