Keeping it simple.

I really, really like cute things. Really. I especially like to make cute things. So last week, when I offered to make cupcakes for a first birthday party, I wanted to make them…….ahem………cute. I thought maybe I could learn how to use fondant – overnight! – but that was a terrible idea from the get-go. Then I thought I could make robot designs out of candy – also a terrible idea from the get-go, since the theme was blocks. I had all of these thoughts while also acknowledging that it’s a first birthday party, and how many people are really (really) going to be checking out the cupcakes since they were going to play second fiddle to the main event – the cake, which actually was made to look like wooden blocks?

But still. No one likes to put ugly things on a plate.

Thankfully, I have creative friends who can help me in my moments of need, and this time it was my friend, Dolores. She suggested making pennants out of paper. Duh. Of course. They weren’t blocks, but they were primary colors all the same. And very much like the fancy $12 cupcake sets , I made my own version. At 59 cents (each) for three pieces of paper from Michael’s, and two packages of cupcake liners from Sur La Table, I came in way under $12, and I was able to make 36 (fancy cupcake sets only give you enough for 24). Here’s the final version:

A couple things to note:

  • I used the same s’mores cupcake recipe that I listed below in a previous blog post. People love those things. However, I used a different icing recipe, since I didn’t want to brown the marshmallow. I used this buttercream marshmallow recipe, and it seemed to hold up just fine.
  • I always double-line cupcakes. I just like the way that it looks.
  • I love my mechanical pastry bag, and you would too if you had one. It’s nearly the holidays, so put it on your list.
2 Comments

Filed under Ideas, Recipes

2 responses to “Keeping it simple.

  1. Robin Spring

    Adorable, Kelli. I’m not much of a blog reader, but I do like yours… probably because it sounds like you, and I like you!

Leave a Reply

