A little something to snack on…

I’m back – for the moment, at least. I won’t promise to be consistent, because we all know my results with that are just lousy. And I hate being lousy at anything.

So today, here I am. I baked with my husband’s little sister who is visiting from Louisiana. I know, she’s technically my sister-in-law, but it’s a strange thing to call a 15 year old by that title. She’s a good, fun kid with a great sense of dry humor and a knack for saying the most unexpected things. I like her a lot. Anyway, she’s here visiting, and was telling me all about her cream puff baking odyssey which has been less than successful. I thought we would try them out here, but she can’t even look at them right now. Instead, we decided on Joy of Cooking’s Black Bottom Cupcakes with Quick White Icing (in hot pink no less). You should give them a try – they’re really good, and really easy to make.

2 Comments

Filed under Family, Fun Times., Recipes

2 responses to “A little something to snack on…

  1. Jessica Kreider Etheridge

    Here’s my cream puff recipe-SUPER easy!
    Very Best Cream Puffs
    1 cup water
    ½ cup butter
    ¼ tsp salt
    1 tbs sugar
    1 cup flour
    1 ½ tsp baking powder
    4 extra lg eggs-room temp
    Pour water in heavy saucepan. Cut butter in small pieces and add it. Sprinkle in salt and sugar. Turn burner on medium to melt butter. Measure out flour and pour in a mixing bowl. Add baking powder and mix with a fork. Turn up heat on pan and bring to a rolling boil. Return to low and add flour, stirring vigorously with a wooden spoon until dough balls and cleans side of pan. Remove from heat. Let cool for 20 minutes. Then, add an egg to dough and beat it in until it is incorporated. Continue with each egg. Lift out a spoonful of dough and drop it. If it maintains its shape, then its ready. If not, beat it some more. Drop by spoonfuls onto cookie sheet at least 3 inches apart. Bake at 400 for 45-50 minutes, 30-35 for small puffs. Remove from oven and pierce with a knife. Let cool. Cut off top third and remove filaments from inside. Add filling and replace cap. Dust with powdered sugar and serve!

  2. Thanks Jess! I’ll be sure to pass this along to Kristen :).

Leave a Reply

