Home is dewberry jelly. Or jam.

 

Last week, I went home to visit my parents. It was great. One of the things I did while I was there was go out to the Red River with my Mom and pick dewberries. You may not be familiar with dewberries, but the most important thing you need to know about them is that they’re the best thing ever, second only to okra and tomatoes. Less important to know is that they’re like a blackberry, only sweeter. So we picked and picked – and sweated like real ladies – and picked. Despite the heat, and the ants, – and did I mention the sweating? – it was nice. To make sure my berry picking didn’t go to waste, my Mom loaded up a container, wrapped some plastic wrap around it, and sent me home packing to the Bay Area with 4 pints of dewberries in my suitcase. How I didn’t end up with dewberries smeared all over my suitcase is a small miracle, but it was a chance I was willing to take so I could make my very first batch of dewberry jam. 

To see my not only my very first batch of dewberry jam, but my very first tutorial, click here. And enjoy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Handcrafted, Recipes

Leave a Reply

