Test Kitchen: Bacon and Smoked Apple Cheddar Waffles with Sage

Bacon and Smoked Apple Cheddar Waffles

Bacon and Smoked Apple Cheddar Waffles

 

 It’s been a long week with late work nights and even later  dinners. Somehow I managed to leave work at 4:45 yesterday (Yes, before 5! Before 7 even! Before it gets dark outside!). But somehow, between checking in on a friend who had her first day back at work post-baby, stopping by Trader Joe’s for much-needed groceries, and picking up Brandon from Bart, I didn’t make it home until 8. Ugh. But it didn’t stop me from making this recipe that I’d had milling around in my head for the last week or so: bacon and smoked apple cheddar waffles. I was thinking about it one night after making blueberry waffles for dinner – the husband likes waffles, but I wanted to make some that were more savory, more dinner-esque. So, using the basic Joy of Cooking waffle recipe, and a small amount of creative umph, here’s what I came up with:   

Bacon and Smoked Apple Cheddar Waffles with Sage (Makes 4-5 waffles) 

Ingredients: 

– 5-10 pieces of bacon (I used regular ole’ bacon, not turkey – although you probably could)
– 1 – 1 1/2 c. smoked apple bacon cheddar, grated (I also want to try using smoked gouda, which the store didn’t have. I think you could use regular smoked cheddar, too. No need to be fancy.)
– 1 3/4 c. flour (I used wheat flour, since I was out of white)
– 1 TB. baking powder
– 1 TB. salt
– 1 TB. sage
– 1 TB. garlic powder
– 3 eggs
– 1/4 to 1 c. butter, melted (Now don’t freak out everyone, but I used the bacon grease that was left over. Very southern of me, thank you very much.)
– 1 1/2 c. milk
 
 Steps:
  1. Cook the bacon (I used 5 pieces, but I felt like it definitely needed more once the waffles were cooked.)
  2. Remove the bacon; place it on a paper towel. Once it’s cooled down, crumble.
  3. If you want to use the bacon grease, instead of the melted butter, just set your pan aside.
  4. In one bowl, mix the dry ingredients.
  5. In a separate bowl, mix the wet ingredients.
  6. Combine the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients.
  7. Once these are mixed, add in the bacon and cheddar.
  8. Cook using a waffle iron.

Tip – After the first waffle is done, check to make sure the ingredients are like you want them (I added a little more after my handsome taste-tester gave me feedback).    

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

