A little babaganoush on my hip-hip-hooray.

Yesterday was my 31st birthday, and it was a good one. I’d say that it was one of my top three birthdays (note to Mom: Brandon is trying to knock you out of the top two spot with the surprise party when I turned 17. I’m not sure what he has planned, but keep an eye open.)

Here are a few highlights:

  • The first one has to be the coconut cake Brandon made for me. Let me stop here and explain that Brandon knows his way around the kitchen, but mostly it’s to get to the cereal bowls. He made the whole thing from scratch using the Ina Garten recipe, and I was really amazed and surprised and impressed. He’s a good egg. Scratch that, he’s a great egg.
  • This seems so silly, but all of our pictures finally got hung. Nothing makes you feel like you should get your house together like a party. Brandon did a really good job of taking my configuration and making it a reality.
  • The cards. This year, for the first time in as long as I can remember, I got a lot of birthday cards. Really, really nice cards where my friends/neighbors said really, really nice things. People tend to do that when you promise food, I guess.
  • Thoughtful, useful gifts. I’m a little too old for the whole “birthday gifts” routine, but a special friend, my Mom and Brandon all gave me gifts that were right up my alley.
  • The party itself. It was nice to have a birthday party where friends/neighbors could meet other friends/neighbors. I like it when our home life and our work life come together in a good way, and a party can sometimes makes that happen (sometimes it also goes spectacularly wrong, but since my husband doesn’t drink, and I’m not really one for dancing on tables or taking my boobs out when I’ve had a glass too many, that seems to be a problem made for other people).
  • Promises being kept. And by promises, I mean the promise that Brandon made to me that I wouldn’t have to lift a finger for the party. You know that woman who likes to look up really complicated recipes and then make everything from scratch, who obsessively cleans the house prior to a gathering and wants everything in its proper place before anyone steps a foot across the threshold? Well, I’m a younger, more vivacious, red-headed version of her (I like to think). Brandon knows this, but he kept his promise, and I did nothing but a few spot cleaning things. It was really great not to feel anxious or short on time.
  • Last but not least, one of my favorite things was watching our football team win their game to get to the next round of the playoffs. One more weekend, and we could have a Superbowl party to plan for.

All in all it was a great day, and I am so thankful to have had my friends and family help me celebrate.

Oh – and the title of the post? Last night, as I was putting the babaganoush into another bowl, I got a little of it on the sign. I was talking to myself, and Brandon didn’t quite hear me, so I said……………………..(you guessed it)………………………

2 Comments

Filed under Fun Times.

2 responses to “A little babaganoush on my hip-hip-hooray.

  1. Marla

    How lovely the middle room is. Now an official dining room, a place to boogie when we were there. Glad to know you’re filling the space with good juju.

    Did you get a card from from Bloomington, IN? We hope it made it in time.

    When I saw the cake I thought Natalie…but Brandon…wow. We had a balmy 45 yesterday, a heatwave. I’ve found yarn remnants and am clicking and stitching away…

  2. Jennifer

    Kelli! Was the surprise party when you turned 17 the one I was there for? It makes sense, timing-wise, but I seemed to have forgotten so much from high school. I mean, it was over a decade ago! Was it the one at your house with all of our good friends??

Leave a Reply

