Sun, Ryan Adams and Mountain View

Today was a beautiful day, and around 2:00 I thought it was high time to get dressed and make the most of it. I grabbed my point-and-shoot and iPod and headed down to Mountain View Cemetary for a good long walk.

The first place I went was the mausoleum – it’s beautiful and quiet. There’s this classical music that’s piped in throughout the entire building, and you can practically walk through without seeing another soul. Given the fact that it’s huge and you never know quite where you are (or how to get out), the added ambient music is just ever so slightly haunting. You’ll probably notice from the pictures that there are a lot of shots of chairs – I’m not sure what it was, but i just had a thing about the chairs there.

From the mausoleum, I walked outside and up the hills. If you live in the Oakland area, and you’ve never been to Mountain View, you should stop whatever it is you’re doing right now (reading this blog), and head on over. Seriously, this blog is nowhere near as interesting as Mountain View. And don’t forget to bring your camera.

For the full Mountain View album, click on the Photographs page above.

Almost to the cemetary...

Almost to the cemetary...

Mausoleum interior.

Mausoleum interior.

Mausoleum interior courtyard.

Mausoleum interior courtyard.

Mausoleum interior.

Mausoleum interior.

Mausoleum interior.

Mausoleum interior.

Mausoleum interior.

Mausoleum interior.

Mausoleum interior.

Mausoleum interior.

Mausoleum interior.

Mausoleum interior.

Mausoleum interior.

Mausoleum interior.

2 Comments

Filed under Photography

2 responses to “Sun, Ryan Adams and Mountain View

  1. annie huthnance

    Queen Bee,
    It is so nice to be a part of your life every day and as I look at the pictures of the cemetery I realize that you try to make sure that I am a part.
    I really enjoy your blog-keep up the good work!
    Love, Mom

  2. Hey Ma – I’m just in shock you figured out how to comment.

    (Not really.)

    I’m glad you like it – it really is my way of keeping everyone around me (near or far) in the loop.

    Love you.

Leave a Reply

